• Should you buy a gaming PC or build one? 

    If you want to set up a computer lab in your home, you need to start with a kick-ass PC. But with so many ways to get good PCs these days, you have to choose:

     

    Do you buy pre-built PCs? Or do you buy your own parts and build the PC with your bare hands?

     

    I've chosen both options for the past 10 years, so I'm in a prime position to guide you through the process. Let's talk about what you need to build your own PC, what it's like to order a custom pre-built PC online, and which one I recommend.

     

    What do you need to build your own gaming PC?

    Building a PC is hard work, but it can be very rewarding. It gives you complete control over the process and really makes your PC feel like your own creation. It also makes it easier to upgrade your PC because you know how each piece and part fits together.

     

    Speaking of parts, let's start with everything you need to build a complete computer and test it yourself:

     

    Case

    a processor (CPU)

    a processor cooler

    a motherboard

    several memory sticks (RAM)

    one hard disk

    a graphics card (GPU)

    a power supply unit (PSU)

    thermal paste

    a light

    a screwdriver

    An anti-static wrist strap (optional, but recommended)

    A copy of Windows (or other operating system)

    a monitor

    a mouse

    Keyboard

    To get the parts, I recommend PCPartPicker. It's a great resource for beginners and allows you to compare different parts so you get exactly what you want (and it will also tell you if any of your parts are incompatible). You can also use our checklist above and buy the parts individually from an online retailer like Amazon or pick them up at a local shop like MicroCenter.

     

    To start this process, you need to know that PCs are complex and fickle. One wrong move can cause you problems when you try to boot your PC for testing. And if you're not careful when building up static electricity, you could accidentally fry one of your more expensive components.

     

    This process requires hours of concentration and precision. If this is your first time, I recommend bringing along a trusted friend - especially if they have built a PC before.

     

    For the building process you will need a flat surface and either an iPad, laptop or phone so you can watch a tutorial. The Best Ways to Build a PC includes an accompanying video that shows you exactly what to do and how to proceed.

     

    The above video from ECPU is a great tool for beginners. They start by detailing the parts and why they are important before proceeding with the actual build. The video also has timestamps to make skipping easier. I also like this tutorial from PC Centric.

     

    It's worth noting that all PC builds vary slightly depending on the parts you choose. If you're having trouble with a part that's not in your video tutorial, try reading the instructions - or better yet - look for a build video with your specific case, motherboard or processor. Do it.

     

    How do you get a custom pre-built PC?

    In addition to building your own PC, you can either buy a pre-built PC that comes out of the box at a shop like Best Buy, or you can customize one at an online shop like iBuyPower. The first may be fine, but I recommend you buy a custom one.

     

    All you have to do is go to iBuyPower's website (there are many such websites, such as CyberPowerPC) and open your PC adapter. You can choose your parts from a long list and also check how your fantasy creation will play popular modern games Eldenring,

     

    As long as all your parts fit together - it will warn you, for example, that the graphics card you want is too big for your case - you can check. Then an expert will assemble your parts for you, put the PC together and ship it to your home. When it arrives, all you have to do is remove the odd giant packing peanut in the case and plug it in.

     

    It's all very convenient, and it also put a huge financial strain on me to have a new PC that is very easy to swallow. I was able to buy my iBuyPower PC through the website's built-in Affirm partnership. Affirm ran my credit and gave me an affordable interest rate and a 12-month payment plan. In total, I paid an extra US$189 for my US$2,324 PC, but it was worth it because I was able to upgrade my old desktop from a whole year ago.

     

    If you have cash - or a really good credit card - you can certainly buy the whole thing. But if the cost of the PC is the biggest hurdle for you, getting a custom PC can make things easier if you go the route I did with monthly payments.

     

    Which do I recommend?

    Photo: Ryan Gilliam / Polygon

     

    In 10 years of mechanical engineering, I've never encountered a major problem with any of my builds. I've never fried anything and my PC has always booted up on the first or second try. I know many other talented PC builders have not been so lucky, but I have had great experiences. I also really enjoyed the process and basically imagined myself doing this every few years for the rest of my life.

     

    However, after several builds and upgrades - plus a mnemonic - I wanted to try something simple and easy. I wanted a perfect build for work and play, and that's exactly what I got with the custom PC I got in 2021. I still had all my parts picked out, but didn't have to do any work. Most importantly, I could pay for the computer over the course of a year instead of paying upfront, which helped my family a lot during the pandemic.

     

    When I buy a new PC many years from now, I will buy a Custom again without question. It's easy in almost every way, and I had an excellent experience with iBuyPower. That said, I really value my previous PC building experience. I know what makes them tick, and I will eventually be able to upgrade my current PC because I know how to install computer parts carefully.

     

    If this is your first PC and you like learning, you will really appreciate the experience of doing it yourself. That being said, if you really just want to play with your friends or take advantage of Steam sales, buying a custom build is the easiest way to get into PC gaming. It's quick, it's easy, it's simple and it just works.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :